Camper Community Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the forum and the first year owning a hardtop camper, a 10ft Palomino. Wondering if I can store my camper outside, namely in my driveway, is this recommended and if so what do I do to winterize the unit. Do you recommend putting a vinyl tarp over it. Any help would be appreciated, by the way I live in Nova Scotia and we can get alot of snow. Thanks in advance for any help, Gordie

·
Registered
971 Posts
I don't live in cold climates so I am not an expert at winterizing but know plenty of RVers who go through the rigors of winterizing.

I definitely would NOT recommend putting a vinyl tarp to use as a cover. Vinyl will stick to many of the camper's surfaces when exposed to any sun or heat that might occur even in cold climates. I'd do an internet search for an RV cover made of material suitable for this purpose.

The good news is there is plenty of information for winterizing a rig and it would be the same for a luxury RV as it would be for a camper. Items I can think of include:

- Use the bypass for the water heater, then completely drain and allow to dry. The unit must have no power (AC, DC or Propane). The bypass is to prevent problems from the next step.
- blowout the lines to remove any water in the supply lines and drains (traps). Then use "pink stuff" antifreeze in the input lines.
- Remove the batteries and store appropriately (I know there is a way to do this, but don't have the details).
- Use an appropriate cover, snug but not tight (should prevent any movement in the event of wind which will damage the surface it slaps against.)

These are only some hints but I hope you can find more comprehensive suggestions from experts and the more experience. Of course, you'll always have the joker that suggests you move or store your unit to a warmer climate.

Good luck with this.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·