Camper Community Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to camping, and I get the gist of it - you separate yourself from mainstream life, and get closer to nature....sleep outside, cook out... BUT, WHAT else do you do with all that time in between?! I'm just inexperienced, and was wondering WHY it is that some people are so thrilled with camping. I'd like to enjoy it as much as they are!

·
Camping Fanatic
1,188 Posts
Being outdoors is a lot of it. If you are an outdoors person, hiking, fishing, walking, or just sitting outside enjoying nature, then you will have that feeling about going camping.

If you are more of an indoor person you may enjoy camping when you go, but not get as excited about it as some others do.

It is relaxing to get away from home, work, phones, tv's, computers, interestates, etc... There are times we do nothing more than sit around the campsite for a couple of hours just talking, kids playing, whatever. Thats the great thing about camping, there is no schedules, or we have to do this or that. But for those who like to be doing something all the time, you can play games, hike, hit the swimming hole, ride bikes, walk around the campground and visit other campers....

·
Registered
59 Posts
I do it to get AWAY. But a lot of it for me is that it takes more time to do everything, cooking, walking to the bathrooms, etc. It makes me stop and pay attention to what I am doing more, stop and smell the roses, etc. And I just find all that fun! I do a lot of hiking, swimming, taking nature photos. I am starting to get into geocaching now, so there is something else to add to the fun! But mostly to get away. From people, from buildings. And being outside all day wears me out! Even if i don't DO much of anything. I sleep better when I am camping. And the cooking can't be beat!:icon_smile_campfire

·
Registered
735 Posts