Camper Community Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm about to hit the road and need advice on what gps system I should be looking at. I will be hauling a 35' 5th wheel, with a f-350 long bed. Since I am not a truck driver, I didn't want to get lost going into territory I can't get out off. What do you all use.

·
Registered
971 Posts
Okay, I've already posted with what I use, but if you want to be technically correct you are really looking for a Navigation system. This consists of a GPS, plus mapping, points of interest and a bunch of other stuff.

Trucker/RV-centric ones are only a couple of years old but here's a site that suggests some from several companies:

Truck GPS Units, Truck Routing, Tractor Trailer GPS for Truck Drivers

Of that list I like the Rand McNally TND 710 because it has length, height AND weight considerations as part of its navigating:

IntelliRoute TND Truck GPS

I've been using Nav systems since 2000 and ff I was shopping for one today this is the one I'd be looking into.

One problem is that this one probably requires a subscription to a satellite service in order to get active status provided by the Navteq feature. I have this in my current Pioneer AVIC system for tracking traffic patterns in major cities. It's nice to have to avoid bad traffic, but costs a bit to use it. If you want the details PM me or email me. There are things you need to know about before you get surprised!

Any unit providing Navteq information needs a satellite subscription. Keep in touch.

·
Registered
971 Posts
You got me interested in these again... so I looked around some more and found that the Cobra 7750 is another good option and looks like it has weight considerations for routing too.

I don't know if it supports Navteq traffic as well, but since these are only for large cities and when you are enroute you avoid large cities anyway (I do), you may not need this.

·
Registered
33 Posts