Camper Community Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
505 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anyone here own a toy hauler?

I am thinking about a toy hauler for the ability to tow a golf cart.

Does anyone here own a toy hauler and have some Pros/Cons for me?

·
Registered
132 Posts
I don't have one but I know they are more expensive. A lot of them are really nice, though. Go look at a few on the lots. You'll also need a bigger tow vehicle for towing the extra weight.

·
Registered
505 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I presently have a Chevy Silverado with the tow package. (Yes, I have been dreaming about a camper since I bought it 7 years ago, AND still don't have a camper)

I have looked at a few, but also find A LOT of these for sale used. That makes me believe that people are changing their minds once they own a toy hauler... I don't know if they change their minds about the toys or the camper. :)

·
Registered
25 Posts
The Pittsburgh Convention Center always has an R.V. show sometime in the first three months of every year. If you can't make it to the show, you might search the net, which might be your best bet. Youdid not say what size Silverado you have. My Silverado is a 3/4 ton with a5.3 engine rated at 305 hp. I do have the heavy duty tow package. WHEN i TOWED my 06 Viking, there was no problem towing it. I took the Viking to a truck stop and had it weighed. It was 3848 pounds fully loaded. So it all depends on your truck. Good luck finding what you want. Be sure to keep searching the net. When my wife and I were on our way home from camping in Tionesta in July of 2006, we stopped in Knox, Pa. to look at some new pop-up campers at a small rv dealer right off interstate 80. We got such a good deal , we traded our old pop-up in and took the new one home. So if you are out and about, don 't be afraid to stop at a dealer or at a toy-hauler that has a for sale sign ou it. Again, good luck.

·
Registered
505 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·