Camper Community Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am going to be spending alot of the winter in my 1994 Fleetwood Bounder. I just got it last March and haven't dealt with any cold weather in it. I have city water source and I am planning to put heat tape on the supply line. Will the interior lines of the RV be safe from freezing at about 20 degree weather? What about the drain lines. It will be in the same spot except to move to go refill the on board propane tank so I plan in putting something in place to keep air from getting under the RV. I would really like to make a fitting and a hose to attach to a different propane tank so I wouldn't have to move it at all. Has anyone here ever tried anything like that. I am new to this and just seeking some good, sound, safe advises. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Is anybody out there? I really need to know if the coled weather can be beaten or I need to look for alternate lodging as I am working out of twonn this winter.

·
Registered
93 Posts
Congrats on taking the leap Brewer, I've full-timed for 4 years and Pa winters can sometimes be brutal. From my experience, I would recommend putting an adapter on your propane set-up so that the local propane company can come to you to fill'er'up.
As for skirting, I use a 2x2 frame under the camper with 1/2 plywood screwed to it after I insulate it with 1/2 foil backed insulation board. I use heat tape on my city water in as well as my outlet pipe for grey and black water, to date I have never had any frozen pipes. In addition I use the "heat-shrink" plastic on the interior windows , the kind you apply then shrink with a hair dryer. I've seen so many campers tape plastic to the exterior, and have to re-tape it all winter long because the blessed duct tape won't stay stuck in the cold. I hope this info's been helpful, and if you have any other questions let me know

·
Registered
13 Posts