Camper Community Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

· Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The title basically. I am kinda new to sleeping in tents and there is always water on the floor in the morning. I know about a material that allows water vapor diffusion while being water repellent and I was wondering if that would be something groundbreaking or if there are other solutions or if that’s just something people ignore. Thanks!

· Super Moderator
5th Wheel Camper
256 Posts
Welcome to the forum!

i can think of a couple thoughts here. do you use a separate ground tarp under the tent? and is the tent fabric old or was there enough stuff inside the tent up against the tent walls to wick moisture in?
tent fabric is water resistant, but not water-proof. i think there is a spray you can apply to the outside to make it more water resistant. but if something on the inside touches the fabric, it can wick the moisture right in.
ground tarps should be about the same size as the ground footprint of the tent, and free of holes. in my past, when i tent camped, the tent i have has a ground tarp bottom, but i would lay a second tarp under the tent to have extra protection from sharp rocks or sticks i failed to clear out.

Hope this is of some help.

· Registered
491 Posts
Re; wet floor
I have experienced significant condensation, enough to make an indoor rainstorm at 3:00 am, when the wind blows; especially when running a propane heater in tents (all forms of combustion seem to emit water as a byproduct). Improving the ventilation and or ventilating the heater (with a chimney) helps; not using a combustion style heater helps more. Note; always allow sufficient ventilation to avoid death by carbon monoxide build up, or oxygen depletion.

People can, apparently, exhale up to a quart of water while breathing over night, I have also tracked this down as a potential reason to condensation on the walls, which can run down to the floor..