Camper Community Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I'm new to tent camping, and new here.
We are going our first tent camping next weekend and were given this big old Aluminum pole Grentland family tent by dh's co worker. The tent is nice and big, husband and the kids camped out last night to try out but they had to wake up with rain in the tent this morning. The tent is leaking on the sides (the fabric is old, so it has weak spots). My husband wants to get a new tent but I wanted to know if we can use some kind of tarp to salvage this tent.
Thank you in advance for your advice.

·
Premium Member
852 Posts
I agree with Smokey - you have those heavy duty poles that will hold up a tarp. Get one much bigger than the tent, stake it out, and now you have plenty of area under it to sit if it's raining, cook if it's raining, etc. I did that for years with an old tent like that

·
Registered
81 Posts
This is a bit of thread necromancy, but I didn't notice anyone mention using CAMP DRY spray on it. Clean and dry out the tent completely, then spray it down all over with camp dry and that hopefully will seal it up. Also make sure nothing inside the tent touches the walls, that will cause it to leak due to the contact.

·
Registered
971 Posts
It the tent is getting old and the fabric is getting weakspots, then if you only fix leaking parts it will only be a matter of a short time before other weakspots form and then you'll be throwing more money and time at a problem over and over again. You may as well get something new.

Reactions: Joelvis

·
Registered
83 Posts
It the tent is getting old and the fabric is getting weakspots, then if you only fix leaking parts it will only be a matter of a short time before other weakspots form and then you'll be throwing more money and time at a problem over and over again. You may as well get something new.