Camper Community Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All! I have just gotten access to a camper trailer and I wanted to ask a few questions so I could operate it safely. I have pulled utility trailers before, but nothing of this size.

Truck: 1998 Silverado Z71 w/ towing package, 5.7L, 3.42 rear end
Trailer: 1999 Dutchman Lite 24 ft.

I am very new to this, so please keep that in mind. Thank you in advance.

1) The trailer has brakes, do I need to use them, and if so what do I need to use them?

2) What tire pressure should I run the truck at? What tire pressure should the trailer be at?

3) Does anyone have any checklists I could use before I get started this summer?

Thanks again.

·
Premium Member
852 Posts
Welcome aboard :welcome:

1) You will need a brake controller and a 7 way connector
2) Inside your driver's door it should tell you what pressure for the tires. There will be a similar sticker somewhere on (or in) the camper
3) Technically for the weight of that trailer (assuming you have at least a Class III hitch) you don't need a weight distributing hitch, but you'll be a lot happier if you do get one (spreads the weight across all axles). A sway bar is also nice (keeps the trailer from getting pushed around when a large truck or bus passes you).

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have the 7-way connector already installed. I'm pretty sure the previous owner had a brake controller, so hopefully any extra wiring is still there.

Can you recommend a reasonably priced brake controller?

Also, when I am towing the camper (some highway, some country) should I have the truck in over-drive or should I keep it in 3rd?

·
Premium Member
852 Posts
Here's a good start Hitches, Tow Bars/Dollys & EvenBrake - Camping World. I think I had a Prodigy (note - most of them are made by Tekonsha) - my F-250 has one built in.