Camper Community Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi all, newbie here, and my wife and I need a lot of advice on what camper trailer to buy. We will be traveling from Michigan via North Carolina and on to Fla. and living in it during January and February while visiting relatives. Two problems here, the wife wants all the comforts and lots of floor space, but the pull vehicle is a 2009 Ford Edge, V6, all wheel drive w/ level one tow package, limiting us, I'm sure. Dry weight capacity, according to the vehicle's handbook, is 3,000#, but I've also read 2,000#, a big discrepency. Purchase price should not exceed $10,000US.

Are fiberglass lighter? Better? Is that where we should begin looking? I'm a tent camper, but that's not an option here.

Many thanks all. I'm finding many good threads here and some really good info, but none with our specific limitations.

David

·
Registered
483 Posts
Your Tow Vehicle is really going to limit you.

I would look at a larger Pop Up or maybe even a high low.

·
Premium Member
852 Posts
Welcome aboard :welcome:

You're not getting anything like the wife is describing with that tow vehicle. You're almost better off getting a Class A or C and towing the Edge behind it.

·
Registered
271 Posts
i couldn't see doing a couple of months or more in something that i could pull behind a ford edge, i'm sure it could be done, i just wouldn't want to.

looks to me like the edge would be better suited for a pop-up or Casita Travel Trailers - America's Favorite Lightweight Travel Trailers | Lightweight, Aerodynamic, Durable, Easy-to-Tow, High-Fuel Efficiency but it sounds like your wife wants something on the lines of a fifth wheel.

anyhow, sounds like you got a lot of looking around to do, good luck and this is a good place to knock around ideas. :10220:

·
Registered
44 Posts
Dave: