Camper Community Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all! I'm Sadie from Texas. I'm a newbie. I've recently bought myself a 1965 vintage Santa Fe travel trailer. Had to tow it down from Arizona, very first time I've ever towed anything! Had no problem at all except going through El Paso......scared the dickens out of me. Those people are crazy. My trailer needs a lot of work but I'm hoping to some day get it on the road heading for a fishing hole somewhere. I've got the edge trims, eyebrows, and lights done.....I had help with the lights, I'm not electrically inclined. Have since realized I don't want this person to help anymore, though he's a nice neighbor, but he just doesn't understand the concept of "vintage". So, anyway, once I get the roof vent fixed I think I'm going to throw my sleeping bag inside and just go, otherwise I'll have to wait until the spring. May have to anyway, don't know yet. It's a stop and go situation right now due to finances.

·
Registered
970 Posts
Hi Sadie from Texas... Welcome!!!

It's great you have a vintage trailer, but I hope the tires are not vintage!! Trailer tires are notorious for developing tire rot. Tire rot is bad because you can't see it because it tends to start inside the tire. The tread might look good but the inside is not, then one unexpected day, POW, then you've got a problem. I hope you have all the tools or some kind of service plan available to you.

If you need help knowing how to check this, please ask.

I hope this is the start of many future trips.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Hi! Well, the po said the tires are new but they're not ST. I was planning to go with Good Sam's eventually. And I did want to ....at some point....get the real trailer tires. How would I check the tires?
And Thanks!

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·