Camper Community Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello My name is Bob Jernigan, just purchased a fifth wheel and have never used it..This has started out a little rough..Prchased it on Friday 11/4/11 brakes failed on Dodge Ram Tow veh..Working on brakes and had a garage fire all was a complete loss..Now I need to buy a new (used?) tow Veh..Any suggestions on what works well, milage would be a concern as well as ease of driving etc... I will also use the truck in our Ministry ( I am a Pastor) so it needs to be flexible. I had a Dodge Ram 2500 with a Cummings but thinking about going gas this time around. Bob [email protected]

·
Registered
162 Posts
new tow vehicle

Unless your 5er is a pretty small one stay with diesel. By small I would define that as 6000 lbs GROSS weight or less. Sorry to hear about your bad luck but hope insurance can fill in most of the gap. We tow a 8,700 lb bumper pull toy hauler and I can't imagine towing it with a gas truck even though I know many are rated for that I also know what it's like in the real world especially mountains. Our previous truck was a 2001 Dodge 2500 diesel with a pull rating of 9350 but we just traded this summer for a 2004 Dodge 3500 diesel dually. It amazes me how much easier the tow is now with a 13,400 capacity. Let us know how you come out and if you have anymore questions, Gerry

·
Registered
970 Posts
Welcome to the forum and it's very sad about the garage mishap.