Camper Community Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I'm a novice camper needing some basic information. I have a 28 ft camper that I need to store for the winter. It has not been hooked up for awhile so freezing water lines are not an issue. Does anyone have recommendations for securing/security measures for leaving the camper at a campground storage area or someone's personal property? Thanks, Tarheelboy

·
Registered
971 Posts
I'd recommend you remove the batteries and keep them at home for weather and maintenance reaons. Also if you can get to the rig often and check the tires to keep them properly inflated, they'll love you for it.

Trailers are hard to secure. Most locks are a joke and if you use locks they are easily broken off. Owners have been known to remove the televisions. I can't help any more than this. Maybe some others who store their rigs elsewhere can provide better information.

Take note that depending on where you live, not winterizing it, won't mean that you don't have too. I don't winterize because of where I live so hopefully someone else can help you here, as well. You won't find problems with the rig in the winter when it's stored. You'll find the problems after everything has thawed, then you try and use your rig only to find some damage.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Camper security and storage

Art, thank you for taking the time to respond. I hadn't thought about the battery situation but it makes great sense. Rest assured there will not be much of value left while it is being stored. Again, thanks for your help. DB

·
Registered
271 Posts
are you sure there is no water in lines, tanks or W/H? just because it hasn't been hooked up dosen't mean there's no water there.

·
Registered
39 Posts