Camper Community Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone I am new to the camper world and I have a few questions. I have a 30' dutchmen pull behind that weighs 5,500 lbs allegidly. I don't know the tongue weight is there a place I can find that out? I pull it with a 04 Avalanche Z71 4X4 1500. It sways pretty bad over 60-65 mph and is terrible on side curvy roads. I know of the sway bar hitches but I have heard that load leveling shocks/airbags will eliminate swaying also. Does anyone on here have them or know if they work. I occasionally haul a heavy trailer also so This would be nice because I can use it for that trailer also.

·
Premium Member
852 Posts
30' and 5500 lbs.? That sounds mighty light. Though most manufacturers have the empty weight w/o options. So once you add the fridge, the a/c, the microwave, anything else not standard, fill the propane bottles, add some water, then pack your gear, it adds up quick.

To get the accurate weight, you're going to need to go find some scales - here's a good thread and even a link to when Ruide weighed his - Weighing Your RV

I have a '06 Suburban, and it is supposed to automatically level out my ride, so I can't put in air shocks or bags. I do use the load leveling hitch - it doesn't make much difference on mine to getting it level, but I do feel better control when using it. Your truck might be a candidate for Super Springs - again, because of how GM made mine, I can't use them either, though they look great.

Last trip I kept it at 63 or below instead of my normal 70-75, and I didn't have to fight pulling at all (plus saved a bunch of gas).

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·