Tent Camping in Extreme Heat - CamperCommunity Forums

Join Now!

Go Back   CamperCommunity Forums > Camping > Tent Camping

Tent Camping in Extreme Heat

CamperCommunity.com is the premier Camper Community Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-17-2011, 03:23 PM
Camper
Camper Type: Tent

Default Tent Camping in Extreme Heat

Most of you are also facing this- the extreme heat and humidity we are going to have this week. Aside from spending lots of time in the water and the shade- how are you or have you kept cool in a tent in 80+ degree weather (even at night)?

We are heading out tomorrow- and was curious of some others suggestions. We plan on spending lots of time at the beach/in the pool- and we also are bringing two fans to put inside out tent to help with air circulation at night. Any other suggestions?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-19-2011, 09:13 PM
Camper
Camper Type: None

Hi, I'm a newbie here, but not to tent camping. I have been researching battery operated fans and will try a few. Don't know if I am allowed to mention brands.
Another thing that is new to me are the neck band coolers that have crystals in them--available online. The other thing I do is move slow! We have 95 degrees in Minnesota today with a dew point of 80; have never seen anything like this!

Cheers,
Cathi
Old 07-20-2011, 01:47 AM
Camper

I have an O2Cool fan (10") that has made summer camping a lot more enjoyable. I keep a sportbrella in my car just in case there aren't any trees to provide shade at the campsite and I tend to plan some type of trip in the car if it gets too hot to cool off in the AC...ice ream run! Don't forget to drink plenty of water!

Cathi I feel your pain! I have lived in the Carolinas for a couple of decades and I have yet to get used to the heat and humidity. Unless I'm camping near water, I don't plan to do much.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-02-2011, 07:50 PM
Camper