Pulling Camper - CamperCommunity Forums

Join Now!

Go Back   CamperCommunity Forums > Recreational Vehicles > RV / Camper Discussions

Pulling Camper

CamperCommunity.com is the premier Camper Community Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-29-2012, 09:05 PM
Camper
Camper Type: Travel Trailer

Default Pulling Camper

Just can't seem to get the camper to ride just right.

I have a 30'-9" bumper pull TT and pulling it with a 2002 F-250 7.3 I have load range E tires and keep hearing way too many different opinions on the air pressure for the front and rear tires. 80 psi is the max. Camper is 7200#. Just looking for the right air pressure.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-30-2012, 08:22 PM
Addicted Camper
Camper Type: Toy Hauler

My first thought is what does the rear axle on your Ford weigh with the trailer ready to use? While I'm not an expert on tires I would consider how close the actual weight on the tires compares to what their max rating is. What I'm getting at is I would guess those tires are rated around 3,000 lbs each and I would further guess with about 1,000 lbs tongue weight you're probably about 3500-4000 on the axle suggesting if you run say 60 lbs both ends you shouldn't be that close to capacity. But I am not a believer in guessing and am a strong believer in knowing what my rig weighs loaded, ready to role AND how it's balanced in order to be safe. So the first thing you should do IMO is weigh your truck and trailer, and if it's not close to the max tire weight I would think 60 lbs good also taking into account the age of the tires. Tires 5 years old won't have the capacity they did when new just as springs don't so more pressure would be in order I think. By that thinking the more load I would want more pressure because it's air pressure not the tire carcas that does the work. Sorry to be so wordy but there are more issues than I believe you brought up to be considered. Hope