what to look for when buying a camper - CamperCommunity Forums

Join Now!

Go Back   CamperCommunity Forums > Recreational Vehicles > RV / Camper Discussions

what to look for when buying a camper

CamperCommunity.com is the premier Camper Community Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-04-2011, 05:32 PM
Enthusiastic Camper
Camper Type: Travel Trailer

Default what to look for when buying a camper

I thought I posted this before but cannot find it so here goes.

My wife and I have camped all our lives but always tent or cabin camped and we are now looking to buy a used 5th wheel camper and would like advice on how to spot problems when buying used.

we do have "limited" experience with campers and me being a truck driver I am set on a 5th wheel but will settle for a travel trailer if the price is right.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-05-2011, 02:14 AM
Camping Guru
Camper Type: 5th Wheel

I come from both the TT and 5er worlds and I would NOT go back to a TT for nothing. Other than getting used to the load at the back window of the truck, everything else about towing a fifth wheel is better than a TT. Since you are a truck driver, I don't think you'd have any problem with it. Most TT owners I know that have gone back to TTs wish they hadn't unless they downsized A LOT. The biggest concern you can get burned on is weight ratings. Check out ALL of them not just the gross ratings. Being a trucker, I think you are more aware of this than I am.

When buying used make sure everything works. A current owner not willing to show you how everything works is the one you want to walk away from unless they tell you which is just as good. You'll have to find someway to find out how everything works especially tanks. Tanks are notorious for problems like leaks especially when full, valves not working right and such. And they are hard to get at.