Awning problems - CamperCommunity Forums

Join Now!

Go Back   CamperCommunity Forums > Camping > Welcome To Camper Community Forums

CamperCommunity.com is the premier Camper Community Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Awning problems

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-22-2011, 04:04 PM
Camper
Camper Type: None

Question Awning problems

Hey everybody! I am new to this stuff so go easy on me. (joke) I have a problem and have no idea how to go about trying to fix it. Last year, while out camping, we had our awning out and a storm came across the lake. Needless to say, the wind took our awning and flipped it up over the camper. (we have a 5th wheel) The base of one of the braces stripped out and that was about it, that we could see. The awning fabric itself is fine. We were able to slide the screws back in and lock everything down and it stayed that way until now. We are wanting to go camping in a couple of weeks but have no idea how to fix this. Any ideas?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-23-2011, 07:08 AM
Addicted Camper
Camper Type: 5th Wheel

If your talking about the bracket at the bottom of the awning leg. You might be able to put a plastic molly in the hole, if they make one big enough. Put some two part epoxy in the hole then the molly. Install the lag screw. You will probably have to make the hole bigger to accept the molly. A bigger lag bolt is another option, diameter not length.
Extend the awning, then remove the leg out of the bracket by releasing the leg from the bracket. Then extend the leg down to the ground and staking it down. That way you just have to deal with just the bracket. You could camp with the awning in this position also.
I don't know how much room you have. You could also drill new holes. Higher or lower. Then readjust your awning. I would check with your dealer before drilling new holes. Electric or water lines could be there.